Showing posts sorted by relevance for query #bookreviews. Sort by date Show all posts
Showing posts sorted by relevance for query #bookreviews. Sort by date Show all posts

Saturday, May 22, 2010

Made the Grade: Maximum Ride Series, Book 1

Format: Paperback | Pages: 413 | Release Date: May 2006 | Publisher: Warner Vision

"The Angel Experiment" [Maximum Ride Series, Book 1] by James Patterson

My Book Summary : Fighting for your life and protecting those around you isn't easy, especially when you are only 14 yrs old and the oldest in your group of misfits.

Max and her friends were genetically engineered so that they are 98% human and 2% other .... which make them possibly look like Angels if they someone saw them flying in the sky. However, they are far from it. They have wings and other abilities that are growing and expanding by the day.
  • "The Flock" :
    • Max - The leader. The 14 yr old mother hen of the group but also built to be the smartest and strongest out of them all. However, she recently learned that she has a "Voice" in her head that helps her out, yet not sure if it is a friend or foe.
    • Fang - 14 yrs old [younger then Max by 4 months]. The tall, dark, brooding, and silent type. Not sure what Fang's strengths are. But he is Max's best friend and she is slowly starting to think of him as more then just a boy.
    • Iggy - 14 yrs old [younger then Max by 6 months I think]. Tall. Strawberry-blonde hair. Blind. Great with creating items or taking them apart [i.e. bombs]. Also, great at breaking into places [i.e. picking locks]. And probably more.
    • Nudge - 10 or 11 yrs old. She's a motormouth! Just learned a new skill about looking into items more in depth.
    • The Gasman - 8 yrs old. Cute and sweet. Not sure what he can do yet...
    • Angel - 6 yrs old. Thinking she is kind of a prodigy since she's the youngest but has the most abilities it seems ... so far.
HOWEVER .... nothing is all hunky-dory in Max-land. The Erasers [other mutants meant to hunt them down and kill them] find them, attack, and kidnap Angel back to the lab they escaped from 4 yrs earlier. So, now its a mission to get her back before anything serious happens to her or worse...

My Book Review : 3.5 out of 5 stars! I really wasn't sure what to expect at first with this book. But once I got started I couldn't stop! Kind of written with the same type of thing as the Darkest Powers Series, but with quite a few unusual twists! I'll be interested what the next book in the series, "School's Out-Forever", entails.

Book Teaser :
Fang and I exchanged a look. This was a little scary. Actually, a lot scary.
"Um, what do you mean, exactly?" I asked Angel. Okay, so she can pick up on most people's thoughts and feelings. But this was the first I'd heard of her sending a thought.
"I just asked her, in my mind," Angel said absently, straightening the bears' small white wings. "And she said okay. And she bought it for me. I'm going to call it Celeste." ~ within Chapter 92

For more information on this book, series and/or any other books by James, then please check out his website.



** This site is a participant in various affiliate advertising programs through Amazon.com, Rakuten Marketing, Commission Junction, IndieBound, Smashwords, Book Depository, and more that are designed to provide a means for Jess to earn minimal advertising fees by showcasing the areas you can purchase the corresponding products that Jess discusses within her blog posts. Basically Jess earns from qualifying purchases.
More specifically Jess partners those websites' programs and you should be aware that they may collect personal information when you interact with their sites. The collection and use of this information is subject to their own privacy policies.
You can check out Rakuten Marketing's privacy policy here: https://rakutenmarketing.com/legal-notices/services-privacy-policy/
**



Related Posts :
Hashtags: #bookreview #bookreviews #review #JamesPatterson #TheAngelExperiment #AngelExperiment #MaximumRideSeries #MaximumRide #theflock #mutants #maxland #DarkestPowersSeries #DarkestPowers #TheErasers #YA #YoungAdult #YoungAdultFiction #YAFiction #YAromance #YoungAdultromance #YAnovels #YAReads #paranormalmaincharacters #paranormal #paranormalfiction #paranormalromance #PNR #fantasy #fantasyromance #angels #angelromance #romancewithangels #SpreadingTheWord #bookish #books #booksuggestions #bookrecommendations #bookrecommendation #readingrecommendation #bookstoread #booktoread #reading #fromjesstoyou #FromJesstoYouServices #frommetoyou #FromMetoYouVideoPhotographyBookReviews #FromMetoYouPhotography #FromMetoYouBookReviews #FromMetoYouVideo #jessbooktube #booktube #BookBlogger #BookReviewer #virtualassistant #socialmediamanager #personalassistant #videographer #photographer #bookblog #professionalreviewer #reviewer #bookpromoter #romancereader #ireadromance #romancetube #romancetuber #RomanceBooktubers #RomanceBooktuber #smallbooktuber #smallyoutuber #websitecoordinator

Saturday, July 17, 2010

Made the Grade: Shifters Series, Book 1

Format: Paperback | Pages: 618 | Release Date: February 2010 | Publisher: MIRA

"Stray" [Shifters Series, Book 1] by Rachel Vincent

My Book Summary : Have you ever seen a "black panther" before? Well, in this world there is no such thing as a "black panther", actually if you've seen one it is really a werecat (which is a type of shifter). Faythe is a werecat. Technically in her society, she's called a tabbycat, as she is a female werecat. Since there are so few tabbycat's in each werecat Pride across the US (about one, daughter, per Alpha), the tabbies usually choose who will be her husband and the next Alpha of her Pride. But five yrs ago Faythe ran away her boyfriend/fiancé (Marc) and her family so she wouldn't turn into a mother and house wife because she wanted more out of her life. Of course, they found her, and after they realized she wasn't going to change her mind, her dad (the Alpha) agreed to let her go to college. Faythe did so, moving on with her life as much as possible, hoping to never go back to her parents home, and dating other guys (all humans).

But now, five yrs later, her family has come to bring her back home whether she likes it or not because of some one is stealing up neighboring Pride's tabbies (one being her friend and the other her younger cousin). Once home she feels there's no need for her to be there and tries to talk her father into letting her leave, which gets her into having 24-hour guard service to make sure she doesn't plan on running for it. Also, with Marc being her father's second-in-command, he is around her all the time, making her not sure if she should still keep her distance or not from him. Especially when old feelings start to emerge again.

But things start getting worse fast, especially when they find one of the missing tabbies murdered .... her family helps the other Pride members search for the other tabby before it's too late. With everyone else dealing with the mess of the missing girls, Faythe manages to break away from everyone to think about everything that has happened in a short period of time for her, and falls right into a trap.

Will she manage to come out better then the other tabbies? Will the Pride members find Faythe and the other girl before it's too late, and deal justice to the ones responsible?

My Book Review : 3 out of 5 stars! Faythe is a great strong character: fierce, determined, a protector to those she loves, though a bitch at times, with a small sweet side that is sometimes hard to find around her loud mouth. Her relationship with Marc is on rocky ground but it's hard not to root for them. Even though she happens to get into a bit of a love triangle (or should I say a square) with a friend she never considered before, and with a human boyfriend back at college. It definitely make me curious as to what book 2, "Rogue", might hold. =0)

Book Teaser(s) :
I let my face slip into the water, as much to escape Marc's tenderhearted babble as to rinse my hair, and I only came up when I had to either surface for a breath or drown.
"...can ignore me for as long as you want. For the rest of the day, or for the rest of the month. For five more years if that's what you need. But when you finally realize I'm right, I'll still be here waiting."
He stopped talking, but he wasn't gone. ~ within Chapter 15

For more information on this book, series, and/or any other books by Rachel, then please check out her website.



** This site is a participant in various affiliate advertising programs through Amazon.com, Rakuten Marketing, Commission Junction, IndieBound, Smashwords, Book Depository, and more that are designed to provide a means for Jess to earn minimal advertising fees by showcasing the areas you can purchase the corresponding products that Jess discusses within her blog posts. Basically Jess earns from qualifying purchases.
More specifically Jess partners those websites' programs and you should be aware that they may collect personal information when you interact with their sites. The collection and use of this information is subject to their own privacy policies.
You can check out Rakuten Marketing's privacy policy here: https://rakutenmarketing.com/legal-notices/services-privacy-policy/
**



Related Posts :
Hashtags: #bookreview #bookreviews #review #RachelVincent #Stray #shiftersseries #Rogue #AdultRomance #AdultFiction #paranormalmaincharacters #paranormal #paranormalfiction #paranormalromance #PNR #Shapeshifter #ShapeshifterRomance #shifters #shifterromancenovels #blackpanther #blackpanthershifter #blackpanthershifters #panthershifters #panthershifter #childhoodcrush #college #collegefiction #collegeromance #NA #NewAdult #NewAdultFiction #NAfiction #NAromance #NewAdultromance #NAnovels #NAReads #AlphaHero #AlphaHeroes #romancenovels #romance #romancereads #romancebooks #romancenovelrecommendations #RomanceRecommendations #SpreadingTheWord #bookish #books #booksuggestions #bookrecommendations #bookrecommendation #readingrecommendation #bookstoread #booktoread #reading #fromjesstoyou #FromJesstoYouServices #frommetoyou #FromMetoYouVideoPhotographyBookReviews #FromMetoYouPhotography #FromMetoYouBookReviews #FromMetoYouVideo #jessbooktube #booktube #BookBlogger #BookReviewer #virtualassistant #socialmediamanager #personalassistant #videographer #photographer #bookblog #professionalreviewer #reviewer #bookpromoter #romancereader #ireadromance #romancetube #romancetuber #RomanceBooktubers #RomanceBooktuber #smallbooktuber #smallyoutuber #websitecoordinator

Monday, August 2, 2010

Disappointmentville: The Ex Games by Jennifer Echols

Format: Kindle Edition | File Size: 486 KB | Release Date: September 2009 | Publisher: Simon Pulse

"The Ex Games" by Jennifer Echols

My Book Summary : Four years ago, Hayden and her family moved from Tennessee to Colorado. During that time, she was in seventh grade, just recovered from a broken leg, and was swept up in being Nick's girl -- who was the hottest & richest boy at her new school -- even though they've only been on a few dates. But while on a date at the local movie theatre she found out that the only reason Nick was dating her was because of a bet with his friends, and once she found out instead of crying she bitched him out in front of everyone at the theatre (including a lot of kids from their grade).

Now they’re exes and over the years they have gotten into a habit of flirting, Nick playing tricks on her, and arguing/fighting with each other. However, during the day before their high school’s winter break they both find themselves in the hallway talking to each other and sitting mighty close together. Something’s in the air but Hayden isn’t quite sure what. She has wanted to be with Nick again ever since they had their fight four years ago but things always got in the way. Plus, it doesn’t help that she’s not sure she can trust him. Also, even though they both happen to be single right now, ever since they broke up, Nick’s longest relationship lasts only about two to three dates, and Hayden doesn’t want to just end up like all of his other girls.

During winter break Hayden wins a snowboarding competition, afterwards she celebrates with her friends, their boyfriends, and Nick. While they are all talking about her competition Nick says that she only won because she was against girls, but if she went up against a boy of her age bracket she would loose. This, of course, starts an argument between the girls and the guys, and ending with Nick and Hayden going against each other that following Saturday (Valentine’s Day) in a comp to see who’s the better boarder.

While the pressure for who will win the comp builds and it seems that the whole town is taking a side, Hayden and Nick go back and forth on getting together again or just arguing with each other and staying sort-of friends. On top of that, Nick is having family issues and Hayden is trying to conquer her fear of heights ... will they be able to fight the odds and realize what is happening between them? Or will they not make up and keep playing the game they’ve been playing since they broke up in seventh grade?

My Book Review : 2 out of 5 stars, because I liked the concept but Nick and Hayden bickered way to much for me to enjoy it. It was like the first time someone said something wrong the other person would chop off the other's head by any means necessary. However, I did like the relationship between Hayden and her younger brother ... their back-and-forth was very entertaining. =0)

My Previous Review(s) for this Author : Forget You

Book Teaser(s) :
Hayden, she's a red-haired lass
Doing nose-grabs by the score
Gonna kick some Krieger ass
Maybe she needs one day more
Wants to snowboard off the jump
Not today, she's filled with sorrow
Scared she'll lose her steeze and biff
Gonna kick some ass tomorrow. ~ within the Chapter titled 'lemon grab'
"Dish, Hayden," exclaimed a gossip-seeking girl who skied directly into my path. "It would be soooo cute if you and Nick got together after he sealed your backpack inside that plaster of Paris volcano last year."
Liz giggled and elbowed me. "I'd forgotten all about that one!"
"But my friends say no way," the girl went on. "Nick hates you. Which is it?"
I shrugged. "I guess you'll have to ask Nick." And if she found out, I hoped she'd pass that info along to me. ~ within the Chapter titled 'jib'

For more information on this book and/or any other books by Jennifer, then please check out her website.



** This site is a participant in various affiliate advertising programs through Amazon.com, Rakuten Marketing, Commission Junction, IndieBound, Smashwords, Book Depository, and more that are designed to provide a means for Jess to earn minimal advertising fees by showcasing the areas you can purchase the corresponding products that Jess discusses within her blog posts. Basically Jess earns from qualifying purchases.
More specifically Jess partners those websites' programs and you should be aware that they may collect personal information when you interact with their sites. The collection and use of this information is subject to their own privacy policies.
You can check out Rakuten Marketing's privacy policy here: https://rakutenmarketing.com/legal-notices/services-privacy-policy/
**



Related Posts :

Made the Grade: Forget You by Jennifer Echols

Looking for something new ..... check these out!

Blog Tour Interview & Review -- Made the Grade: On the Rim of Love by Marie Astor

Text Me - 8 Novels of First Love by 8 Bestselling Authors | Spreading the Word @shananorris #AmandaBrice @sheldelisle @LeeStraussBooks @Juli_Alexander @watched1 @Katiewriting @KatBrookes

My Book Reviews & Book Index:
~ E ~ Authors
Hashtags: #bookreview #bookreviews #review #JenniferEchols #TheExGames #ExGames #YA #YoungAdult #YoungAdultFiction #YAFiction #YAromance #YoungAdultromance #YAnovels #YAReads #teenromance #contemporaryfiction #contemporary #contemporaryromance #highschool #highschoolfiction #highschoolromance #WinterNovels #WinterReads #winter #wintertime #wintertimebooks #wintertimereads #WinterTimeNovels #winterbreak #dramedy #exes #HolidayBooks #holidayromance #holidayromances #holidayfiction #enemiestolovers #RomanticComedy #romcom #sweetreads #sweetromance #sportsromance #snowboard #snowboarding #snowboardingcompetition #romancenovels #romance #romancereads #romancebooks #romancenovelrecommendations #RomanceRecommendations #bookish #books #booksuggestions #bookrecommendations #bookrecommendation #readingrecommendation #bookstoread #booktoread #reading #fromjesstoyou #FromJesstoYouServices #frommetoyou #FromMetoYouVideoPhotographyBookReviews #FromMetoYouPhotography #FromMetoYouBookReviews #FromMetoYouVideo #jessbooktube #booktube #BookBlogger #BookReviewer #virtualassistant #socialmediamanager #personalassistant #videographer #photographer #bookblog #professionalreviewer #reviewer #bookpromoter #romancereader #ireadromance #romancetube #romancetuber #RomanceBooktubers #RomanceBooktuber #smallbooktuber #smallyoutuber #websitecoordinator

Thursday, August 5, 2010

What was I thinking?: Perfectly Dateless: A Universally Misunderstood Novel by Kristin Billerbeck

Format: Paperback | Pages: 257 | Release Date: July 2010 | Publisher: Revell

"Perfectly Dateless: A Universally Misunderstood Novel" by Kristin Billerbeck ( I read this as a part of Smitten With Books ARC Tours)

What was I thinking? : Well, the cover was cute and the product description that Smitten With Books ARC Tours gave was cute too. I truthfully thought it was going to be a sweet/cute YA novel that I would breeze right through. Instead it was like I was beating my head up against a wall, just trying to finish the book at my normal reading pace, when all I wanted to do was stop. =0P

My Book Summary : Daisy's life is based around her family and her beliefs, with that being said she has a lot of rules that her parents want her to live by. For the most part, she understands their fears, but after seventeen years being the "perfect daughter", she wants to spread her wings a bit more. So, her goal for her last year of high school is to get a date and go to Prom!! It's more so she will be able to say that she went more then anything, but to help her find the right guy she has a 'Prom Journal' to help her out. Her biggest problem is that her parents won't allow her to date, so she not only has to find a guy, but she has to convince her parents that this will be for the best.

Before her senior year, she chooses five guys who she has set her sights on being her prom date. And once the school year beings some of them start getting crossed off her list quickly. But her main person that she wants to go to prom with is Chase. She has been in love with him since kindergarten and he has always been sweet to her. However, she doesn't really know how he feels about her and soon the most popular (and meanest to Daisy) is falling all over Chase looking like Daisy might not have a chance. To top it off a new guy (in her grade) Max has set his sights on her.

In addition, Daisy and her best friend make plans on becoming more noticeable, but in doing so some of the decisions that are made have some consequences that they didn't expect. Will Daisy finally get to have more control over her life, and be able to attend prom with a date? Or will her parents succeed in keeping choosing her life and future for her?

My Book Review : 1 out of 5 stars. I must be a part of the group of people who have misunderstood this book since I just didn't like it at all. I dunno, I mean the message of the book was good. And don't get me wrong I have read some Christian fiction books before and there were a few that I did like. But this one rubbed me the wrong way I guess. I really can't stand "preachy" books and Daisy's parents were very "preachy". However, I will admit that I liked how Daisy dealt with her parents, and she was a good main character. I'm not to sure about her best friend Claire. I really think Daisy should have found a new best friend, since while I thought Daisy's parents were "preachy", Claire pushed her views onto Daisy too and I have never liked that about people.

Side note -- I just have to say ... where can I order myself a Max?! ALSO -- she has a great "fairy godmother" of a boss, which after you read the explanation of him is kind of surprising. =0)

On the other hand, when going to Amazon.com there were quite a few positive reviews on the book -- so those of you who are fans of Christian books might like and appreciate this book more so then I did.

Book Teaser(s) :
Things are not looking from a male perspective. Gil had a girlfriend in high school, which makes me think I need a boyfriend, otherwise how is a guy going to know he has to ask me to the prom? I mean, without a boyfriend, I'm throwing caution to the wind, leaving it all to chance. And that is just not me. I don't take chances.
All I know is the closer prom gets, the more pathetic my life becomes and the tighter my parents' grip seems to be. I am desperately close to losing all sense of sanity. Maybe that's too dramatic for four days of effort, but the results? Ugh, the results!
~ within Chapter 6

For more information on this book and/or any other books by Kristin, then please check out her website.



** This site is a participant in various affiliate advertising programs through Amazon.com, Rakuten Marketing, Commission Junction, IndieBound, Smashwords, Book Depository, and more that are designed to provide a means for Jess to earn minimal advertising fees by showcasing the areas you can purchase the corresponding products that Jess discusses within her blog posts. Basically Jess earns from qualifying purchases.
More specifically Jess partners those websites' programs and you should be aware that they may collect personal information when you interact with their sites. The collection and use of this information is subject to their own privacy policies.
You can check out Rakuten Marketing's privacy policy here: https://rakutenmarketing.com/legal-notices/services-privacy-policy/
**



Related Posts :
Hashtags: #bookreview #bookreviews #review #KristinBillerbeck #PerfectlyDateless #UniversallyMisunderstood #UniversallyMisunderstoodSeries #YA #YoungAdult #YoungAdultFiction #YAFiction #YAromance #YoungAdultromance #YAnovels #YAReads #teenromance #highschool #highschoolfiction #highschoolromance #sweetreads #sweetromance #Christianfiction #ChristianRomances #ChristianRomance #Denomination #cleanromance #WholesomeRomance #contemporaryfiction #contemporary #contemporaryromance #romancenovels #romance #romancereads #romancebooks #romancenovelrecommendations #RomanceRecommendations #bookish #books #booksuggestions #bookrecommendations #bookrecommendation #readingrecommendation #bookstoread #booktoread #reading #SpreadingTheWord #fromjesstoyou #FromJesstoYouServices #frommetoyou #FromMetoYouVideoPhotographyBookReviews #FromMetoYouPhotography #FromMetoYouBookReviews #FromMetoYouVideo #jessbooktube #booktube #BookBlogger #BookReviewer #virtualassistant #socialmediamanager #personalassistant #videographer #photographer #bookblog #professionalreviewer #reviewer #bookpromoter #romancereader #ireadromance #romancetube #romancetuber #RomanceBooktubers #RomanceBooktuber #smallbooktuber #smallyoutuber #websitecoordinator

Thursday, April 22, 2010

I don’t know but I think I maybe fallin’ for you. Dropping so quickly, maybe I should keep this to myself, waiting ’til I know you better.

Format: Hardcover | Pages: 267 | Release Date: August 2004 | Publisher: Delacorte Press

"The Immortal Highlander" [The Highlander Series, Book 6] by Karen Marie Moning -- In this novel Ms. Moning took Adam Black from villain Book 1 (and maybe a few others in this series) and made him the hero! Basically Adam had been a considerable grievance to the Faery Queen in fighting against the High Council and her to save a mortals life, and because of that she punished him by taking his powers away, making him human, and making him invisible to all the mortals around him for an unknown period of time.

After a couple of months later at an impasse of what he might do to let the Faery Queen give back his immortality, a sidhe-seer named Gabrielle (Gabby) gets caught looking at him and he realizes she might just be able to save him.

Gabby tries to fight off his lure, but with his charms he is hard to keep resisting, and she just might be falling for one of the "things" her grandmother had told her always to stay away from. But what will happen once Adam gets his powers back? And with someone on Adam's tail trying to kill him over centuries old arguments while he's in human form, will they even survive before they get Adam to speak to the Queen?

4.5 out of 5 stars! It's a wonderful love story! Loved the characters! In addition, if you are a fan of the Fever series then you MUST read this book since it will give you a little more background info on Darroc -- why he was punished the way he was and how he started becoming what he is now.

My Previous Review(s) for this Series: Book 1

For more information on this book, series and/or any other books by Karen, then please check out her website.

** The title is lyrics from the song Falling For You by Colbie Caillat **



** This site is a participant in various affiliate advertising programs through Amazon.com, Rakuten Marketing, Commission Junction, IndieBound, Smashwords, Book Depository, and more that are designed to provide a means for Jess to earn minimal advertising fees by showcasing the areas you can purchase the corresponding products that Jess discusses within her blog posts. Basically Jess earns from qualifying purchases.
More specifically Jess partners those websites' programs and you should be aware that they may collect personal information when you interact with their sites. The collection and use of this information is subject to their own privacy policies.
You can check out Rakuten Marketing's privacy policy here: https://rakutenmarketing.com/legal-notices/services-privacy-policy/
**



Related Posts :
Hashtags: #bookreview #bookreviews #review #KarenMarieMoning #TheImmortalHighlander #ImmortalHighlander #TheHighlanderSeries #HighlanderSeries #jester #AdamBlack #AdultRomance #AdultFiction #paranormal #paranormalfiction #paranormalromance #PNR #fantasy #fantasyromance #faery #fae #fey #fairies #fairy #faeromance #fairyromances #faecourt #historicalfiction #historical #historicalromance #timetravel #timetravelromance #timetravelromances #womensfiction #mystery #thriller #ScottishRomance #ScotlandRomance #ScottishHistoricalRomance #Scotland #Scotlandlaird #steamyreads #smuttyreads #smuttybooks #smuttynovels #sexualescapades #sexytimes #SpreadingTheWord #romancenovels #romance #romancereads #romancebooks #romancenovelrecommendations #RomanceRecommendations #bookish #books #booksuggestions #bookrecommendations #bookrecommendation #readingrecommendation #bookstoread #booktoread #reading #fromjesstoyou #FromJesstoYouServices #frommetoyou #FromMetoYouVideoPhotographyBookReviews #FromMetoYouPhotography #FromMetoYouBookReviews #FromMetoYouVideo #booktube #BookBlogger #BookReviewer #virtualassistant #socialmediamanager #personalassistant #videographer #photographer #bookblog #professionalreviewer #reviewer #bookpromoter #romancereader #ireadromance #romancetube #romancetuber #RomanceBooktubers #smallbooktuber #smallyoutuber #websitecoordinator #Pinocchio #WhenYouWishUponAStar

Wednesday, July 28, 2010

Idolizing In: Smooth Talking Stranger by Lisa Kleypas

Format: Paperback | Pages: 372 | Release Date: March 2010 | Publisher: St. Martin's Paperbacks

"Smooth Talking Stranger" by Lisa Kleypas

My Book Summary : Ella has worked hard for what she has, which is a good life with her boyfriend Dane in Austin, Texas, a career that she is very happy with, and good friends. But after avoiding talking to her mother and sister for nearly two years, she takes a call from her mother asking her to come to Houston immediately since Ella's younger sister (Tara) has just left her son at Ella's mother's place and she can't keep him. Now Ella has to find out where her sister is, take care of a baby (even though she has never done so before), and take control of the situation and try to fix it.

Once she gets there, she finds that her sister left a birth certificate with the baby. Now she knows that the baby's name is Luke, he's only a week old, and there is no father's name listed on the birth certificate. After making a few calls to her cousin, whom Tara has been living with, Ella has her write up a list as to whom Tara has been with within the past year -- since she wants the father of this baby to take responsibility even if Tara doesn't want him too. The first name on that list is billionaire playboy, Jack Travis.

Jack is a ladies’ man, with no plans in settling down soon, but as soon as he meets Ella & Luke in his office's lobby he realizes how cute she is and he's determined to help her out by putting her up in a hotel until she finds another place to stay, and even agreeing to a paternity test (even though he swears to have been on one date with Tara but never sleeping with her). Now even though the truth comes out that Jack is telling the truth, he keeps helping Ella out through this trial time of raising a baby and straightening out her sister's mess, especially since she doesn't seem to be getting any support from her boyfriend or her mother.

However, Ella has had a hard time growing up and makes a point of not getting close to anyone but Luke seems to sweep under her defenses, with Jack not far behind. Will Ella be able to put everything to rights again? Will she realize what she has before it's too late? Or will she run back to her old life and boyfriend the first chance she gets ....

My Book Review : 5 out of 5 stars!! This story of Ella & Jack I just LOVED!! The way he just swooped in and took care of her, even when she didn't want it, was wonderful and soo sweet to read! I will say that when she's doing the hunt on who's Luke's father and she's confronting a man who is described to be blond ... I knew exactly who Luke's father was before the 5 or more chapters later confirmed it. Basically for my first time reading something/anything by Lisa Kleypas I got to say I was impressed! I'll definitely have to check out more of her books.

Author Book Trailer :

If you can't see/watch the above video then click here to watch it.

Book Teaser(s) :
Teaser Tuseday for this book...
"Where's he going to stay?"
"With me, of course."
Jack was quiet for a long moment. It might have been my imagination, but I thought his breathing had acquired a rough edge. "I can get him a hotel room," he finally said. "I'll pay for it."
"Why would you ... what? ..."
"I don't want him staying overnight with you."
"But he's my---" I stopped and stared at him in disbelief. "What is this? Jack, I live with him." ~ within Chapter 14

For more information on this book and/or any other books by Lisa, then please check out her website.



** This site is a participant in various affiliate advertising programs through Amazon.com, Rakuten Marketing, Commission Junction, IndieBound, Smashwords, Book Depository, and more that are designed to provide a means for Jess to earn minimal advertising fees by showcasing the areas you can purchase the corresponding products that Jess discusses within her blog posts. Basically Jess earns from qualifying purchases.
More specifically Jess partners those websites' programs and you should be aware that they may collect personal information when you interact with their sites. The collection and use of this information is subject to their own privacy policies.
You can check out Rakuten Marketing's privacy policy here: https://rakutenmarketing.com/legal-notices/services-privacy-policy/
**



Related Posts :
Hashtags: #bookreview #bookreviews #review #LisaKleypas #SmoothTalkingStranger #TheTravisFamily #TheTravisFamilySeries #TravisesSeries #5StarReads #FiveStars #AdultRomance #AdultFiction #contemporaryfiction #contemporary #contemporaryromance #WesternRomance #WesternRomances #womensfiction #steamyreads #smuttyreads #smuttybooks #smuttynovels #sexualescapades #sexytimes #BillionaireRomance #parenthood #parenthoodromance #parenthoodfiction #FamilyRomance #FamilyFiction #surprisebaby #suprisepregnancy #romancenovels #romance #romancereads #romancebooks #romancenovelrecommendations #RomanceRecommendations #bookish #books #booksuggestions #bookrecommendations #bookrecommendation #readingrecommendation #bookstoread #booktoread #reading #SpreadingTheWord #fromjesstoyou #FromJesstoYouServices #frommetoyou #FromMetoYouVideoPhotographyBookReviews #FromMetoYouPhotography #FromMetoYouBookReviews #FromMetoYouVideo #jessbooktube #booktube #BookBlogger #BookReviewer #virtualassistant #socialmediamanager #personalassistant #videographer #photographer #bookblog #professionalreviewer #reviewer #bookpromoter #romancereader #ireadromance #romancetube #romancetuber #RomanceBooktubers #RomanceBooktuber #smallbooktuber #smallyoutuber #websitecoordinator

Thursday, December 3, 2009

... come feel this magic i've been feeling since i met you ...

I'm not sure if this happens to every girl ... but the lucky ones (like me) get to grow up with guys who aren't related to her and yet are like family. That's how it is for Belly in "The Summer I Turned Pretty" by Jenny Han.

This 15 yr old lives her life for the summers she spends at a beach house with her mom, brother, and her mothers best friend with her sons. Growing up she has always been the youngest in the pack and the only girl. Over the years she has tried to be included and the summer that she turns sweet 16 things finally change, especially when everyone realizes that she has grown up and isn't a little girl anymore.

When you always grown up thinking you were the ugly duckling ... and now your not ... how can you get everyone else to see it too?

Belly is a great character ... brave in her own way ... loving to those around her ... and never gives up.

I give it 3 out of 5 stars. To find out more about this book or other books by Jenny Han check out her website.



** This site is a participant in various affiliate advertising programs through Amazon.com, Rakuten Marketing, Commission Junction, IndieBound, Smashwords, Book Depository, and more that are designed to provide a means for Jess to earn minimal advertising fees by showcasing the areas you can purchase the corresponding products that Jess discusses within her blog posts. Basically Jess earns from qualifying purchases.
More specifically Jess partners those websites' programs and you should be aware that they may collect personal information when you interact with their sites. The collection and use of this information is subject to their own privacy policies.
You can check out Rakuten Marketing's privacy policy here: https://rakutenmarketing.com/legal-notices/services-privacy-policy/
**



Related Posts :

Hashtags: #bookreview #bookreviews #review #JennyHan #TheSummerITurnedPretty #SummerSeries #TheSummerSeries #YA #YoungAdult #YoungAdultFiction #YAFiction #YAromance #YoungAdultromance #YAnovels #YAReads #teenromance #highschool #highschoolfiction #highschoolromance #contemporaryfiction #contemporary #contemporaryromance #sweetreads #sweetromance #SummerReads #SummerNovels #SexySummerReads #SummerTimeNovels #dramedy #FamilyRomance #FamilyFiction #agegap #agegapromance #bestfriendstolovers #friendstolovers #childhoodcrush #romancenovels #romance #romancereads #romancebooks #romancenovelrecommendations #RomanceRecommendations #bookish #books #booksuggestions #bookrecommendations #bookrecommendation #readingrecommendation #bookstoread #booktoread #reading #SpreadingTheWord #fromjesstoyou #FromJesstoYouServices #frommetoyou #FromMetoYouVideoPhotographyBookReviews #FromMetoYouPhotography #FromMetoYouBookReviews #FromMetoYouVideo #jessbooktube #booktube #BookBlogger #BookReviewer #virtualassistant #socialmediamanager #personalassistant #videographer #photographer #bookblog #professionalreviewer #reviewer #bookpromoter #romancereader #ireadromance #romancetube #romancetuber #RomanceBooktubers #RomanceBooktuber #smallbooktuber #smallyoutuber #websitecoordinator

This site is a participant in various affiliate advertising programs through Amazon.com, Rakuten Marketing, Commission Junction, IndieBound, Smashwords, Book Depository, and more that are designed to provide a means for Jess to earn minimal advertising fees by showcasing the areas you can purchase the corresponding products that Jess discusses within her blog posts. Basically Jess earns from qualifying purchases.
More specifically Jess partners those websites' programs and you should be aware that they may collect personal information when you interact with their sites. The collection and use of this information is subject to their own privacy policies.
You can check out Rakuten Marketing's privacy policy here: https://rakutenmarketing.com/legal-notices/services-privacy-policy/